Press Releases

Lagos Biennial 2024 Participants

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Lagos Biennial is delighted to announce the list of participants for its 4th edition on the theme of REFUGE. Opening to the public from 3 – 10 February 2024 in the heart of Lagos on the grounds of Tafawa Balewa Square, a site named in honour of the first Nigerian Prime Minister, Lagos Biennial 2024 features over 80 participants from more than 30 countries across a series of curated sections: Gregarious Architectures, CAPTCHA and Worldmade Communities, as well as a series of autonomous collaborative platforms, the REFUGE teams. The Biennial takes place at the historical space of the Tafawa Balewa Square in order to reflect on possible meanings, in relation to political allegiance, territory, sovereignty, regionality, notions of belonging, encounter, and alliance. The Tafawa Balewa Square was predominantly a site of leisure in the colonial period as a racecourse and then, after Independence, increasingly hosted political, cultural, and commercial events. This fourth edition of the Biennial moves the cursor towards experiments in non-conventional modes of exhibition making, shifting from the idea of the work as an end in itself towards generative models and prototypes that continue to activate possibilities in the world. The Lagos Biennial 2024 Press Preview will take place on Saturday, 3 February 2024, from 12pm at Tafawa Balewa Square on Lagos Island.

Image courtesy of Lagos Biennial

Gates open to the public on Saturday, 3 February 2024, at 2pm, and there will be an Official Welcome at 3pm with N’Goné Fall (Lagos Biennial Advisory Board), Folakunle Oshun (Lagos Biennial Director) and Kathryn Weir (Lagos Biennial Co-Artistic Director). See for details of the programme of performances, talks and discussions that runs through to 10 February.

The 2024 biennial is supported by the Guest Artist Space G.A.S Foundation, who are facilitating research residencies for several participating artists. Other supporters and partners include Terra Foundation for American Art, Open Society Foundations, ProHelvetia Swiss Arts Council, Institut Francais Nigeria, Goethe Institut Nigeria, Alliance Francaise at the Mike Adenuga Centre, Friends of Lagos Biennial, St. Nicholas Hospital, and ko artspace.

Lagos Biennial is proud to announce a three-edition partnership with Royal Air Maroc as Official Travel Carrier.

The Lagos Biennial is an initiative of the Akete Art Foundation, and is endorsed by the Lagos State Government Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture.

Image courtesy of Lagos Biennial

Lagos Biennial 2024
Artistic Directors: Kathryn Weir and Folakunle Oshun


Noor Abed (Gregarious Architectures)
Rabeeha Adnan (CAPTCHA)

Gzoly Vishnu Balunsat
Rezene Tsegai
Shushan Tesfuzigta
Nahom Abraham Wael
Sephora Woldu (curator)

Maria Thereza Alves (Gregarious Architectures)
Iván Argote (Gregarious Architectures)
Leo Asemota (Gregarious Architectures)


Cindy Sissokho
Mónica de Miranda

Deniz Bedir (Gregarious Architectures)
Darlene Blackburn (Worldmade Communities)
Stéphanie Brossard (Gregarious Architectures)
Huey Copeland (Worldmade Communities)
Romi Crawford & The New Art School Modality (Worldmade Communities)

Temitayo Ogunbiyi (curator)
Lisa Ann Parks
Laila Shereen Sakr
Miha Vipotnik

Samuel R. Delany (Gregarious Architectures)
Ezekiel Dixon-Román (Worldmade Communities)
Navine G. Dossos (CAPTCHA)
Jimmie Durham (Gregarious Architectures)
Victor Ehikhamenor (Gregarious Architectures)
Chinenye Emelogu (Gregarious Architectures)
Nina Emge (Gregarious Architectures)
Em’kal Eyongakpa (Gregarious Architectures)

Olaniyi Studio
Yussef Agbo-Ola
Jermay Michael Gabriel & Justin Randoph Thompson (Worldmade Communities)
Kendell Geers (Gregarious Architectures)

Feda Wardak

Chioke I’Anson (Worldmade Communities)
Onyeka Igwe (Gregarious Architectures)
Hiwa K (Gregarious Architectures)
Sam Keogh (CAPTCHA)
Kiluanji Kia Henda & Paulo Moreira (Gregarious Architectures)
François Knoetze (CAPTCHA)
Ibrahim Mahama (Gregarious Architectures)
Bettina Malcomess (Gregarious Architectures)
Native Maqari & Zineb Boujema (Gregarious Architectures)
Demas Nwoko (Gregarious Architectures)
Emeka Ogboh (Gregarious Architectures)
Henrique Oliveira (Gregarious Architectures)
Bruce Onobrakpaeya (Gregarious Architectures)
Mimi Ọnụọha (CAPTCHA)

Odun Orimolade (Gregarious Architectures)

Martinka Bobrikova
Oscar de Carmen
María Alejandra Gatti (curator)
Anto Lloveras

Giulia Piscitelli (CAPTCHA)
Arlette Quỳnh-Anh Trần (Gregarious Architectures)
Tabita Rezaire (Gregarious Architectures)
Yasmin Smith (Gregarious Architectures)
Dima Srouji (Gregarious Architectures)

Anna Ehrenstein
Shaunak Mahbubani (curator)
Blair Opara and Clinton Opara (DNA)
Rebecca Pokua Korang

KJ Abudu (curator)
Evan Ifekoya

Nolan Oswald Dennis
Raymond Pinto
Temitayo Shonibare
Adeju Thompson

Sarah Rifky ( Co- Curator of Worldmade Communities and CAPTCHA)
Valentina Vetturi (CAPTCHA)
Tricky Walsh (CAPTCHA)
Dana Whabira (Gregarious Architectures)

Kukily Afrofeminist Arts Collective (curator)
Julia Cohen Ribeiro
Florencia Victoria Gomes
Lina Lasso
Colleen Ndemeh Fitzgerald
Jasmin Sánchez

Write A Comment